Latest News Editor's Choice

Entertainment / Events

3rd ZAA Australia Winners Announced

by Agencies
27 Nov 2019 at 09:57hrs | Views
The Zimbabwean diaspora community and friends came out in full force on Saturday night to celebrate some of the best achievers of the year at the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards Australia 3rd Edition at the InterContinental Hotel in Sydney which was running under the theme 'Celebrating excellence and promoting the health and wellbeing of Zimbabweans in Australia'.

This year's edition which was graced by HE Ambassador Joe Tapera Mhishi among other distinguished guests, saw the reunion of ZAA and headline sponsor, life insurance company ZororoPhumulani once more setting the platform to celebrate Zimbabwean achievers and coincided with the launch of ZororoPhumulani's WorldWide Funeral Services (WWFS) plan which is targeted at the diaspora communities in offering repatriation and funeral services.

Method Mukundu, the ZAA Australia Country Director elaborated on the theme in his opening speech. "As we celebrate and honour those amongst us who have excelled, we also intended to highlight the importance of maintaining good mental and physical health, balanced finances and strong networks that can sustain a fully integrated, healthy and stable Zimbabwean Community in Australia".

ZororoPhumulani CEO Edwin Anderson also spoke of their delight in supporting the efforts of ZAA and diaspora communities in provide peace of mind for all communities and their expansion into the USA, UK, Canada as well as other territories where the diaspora communities are. The WWF Plan by ZororoPhumulani is powered by Doves to offer a diaspora-oriented funeral plan for those in Australia with packages including repatriation services and air tickets for two persons to travel with the deceased to Zimbabwe where Doves will take over from there till the final destination.

Notable amongst the winners was ZimGems Netball Team star Joice Mada Takaidza who scooped 3 awards in the categories of Sport Personality of the Year, People's Choice and the Chairman's Award to become the first recipient to earn 3 awards in one night since the inauguration of ZAA Australia in 2017.  

Rising Zimbabwean born lawyer Harutsari Marunda picked up two awards; one on behalf of her law firm HCM Legal in the Business of the Year category and the other in her personal capacity as recipient of the Outstanding Achiever Award. Tendayi Ganga was also a double award winner in the Community Champion of the Year (Female) and the Community Organisation of the Year through her Born to Shine Women's Organization. Completing the list of double award winners on the night was Simba Mushete who was awarded for excellence in the categories of Music Artist of the Year and Culture and Fashion Ambassador.

Lucky Ngoshi became the first recipient to win an award in each of the three successive ZAA Australia events after she won this year's Female Entrepreneur of the Year award after being the winner of the People's Choice Award in 2017 and the Philanthropic Leadership Award for her selfless community work in 2018.

The event was hosted by cybersecurity expert and author Phillimon Zongo with entertainment provided by the Echoes of Africa band led by Simba Mushete and gospel singer Nyarai Takaidza. The ZimAchievers Awards have been a fixture on the diaspora social calendar since 2010 with editions in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and South Africa taking place annually.

In 2020 the awards make their long awaited bow on home soil for the 10th anniversary celebrations and awards show at Elephant Hills Lodge in Victoria Falls on 10th April under the ZimThrive Homecoming initiative.

Full list of ZAA Australia 2019 winners

Young Achiever's Award
The Mango Twins (Julian & Juliet Mango)
Business of the year
HCM Legal
Community Organization of the Year
Born to Shine
 Women's Organisation
Community Champion of the year Female
Tendayi Ganga
Community Champion of the year Male
John Shumba
Culture and Fashion Ambassador
Simba Mushete
Event of  the Year
ZimOz Summer Festival
Female entrepreneur of the year
Lucky Ngoshi
Male  Entrepreneur of the Year
Tobias Mahohoma
Music Artist of the Year
Simba Mushete
People's Choice
Joice Mada Takaidza
Professional of the Year
Tecla Muriri Masunda

Sports person of the Year
Joice Mada Takaidza
Media Personality of the Year
Kim Renee Wadyehwata
Leadership in Mental and Everyday Wellbeing Advocacy Award
Gladys Mutongoreya
Academic Excellence
Dr Fidelis Mashiri
Outstanding Achievement Award
Haatsari Marunda
Philanthropic Leadership Award
Alfred Chidembo
Philanthropic Leadership Award
Precious Mugadza
Friend of Zimbabwe Award
Mally Ellis
Chairman's Award
Joice Mada Takaidza
Chairman's Award
Debra Manson

Source - Agencies

Get latest news by email: