Latest News Editor's Choice

Entertainment / Events

Zimbabwe Achievers South Africa Reveal 2016 Contenders

by Art Correspondent
31 Oct 2016 at 18:01hrs | Views
Bridget Mudhosi and Lawrence - ZAA SA
NOMINEES for the 2016 South African edition of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards have been announced with the winners to be revealed at a gala dinner scheduled for the 10th of December in Sandton.

Organisers of the high profile event announced over 65 nominees across 16 categories last Friday in johannesburg.

Steward Bank was unveiled as one of the sponsors for the forthcoming edition.

Louis Charema, ZAA International Executive said the committee were delighted to welcome Steward Bank on board as an official partner for the South African edition, weeks after it was announced that they would sponsor the US edition.

Charema added that the commercial bank's support for the respective franchises would only strengthen an already growing relationship with the Zimbabwean community on an International spectrum Steward Bank, who have continued to expand their products and services worldwide, said they were delighted to be partnering with Zim Achievers South Africa.

Chief Executive Officer, Lance Mambondiani said they were proud to be associated with the awards and that he was looking forward to both the South African and US editions taking place in November and December.

"ZAA is a worthy cause and I applaud the organisers for the initiative, and the Zimbabwean mission in South Africa for supporting it,"Mambondiani said.

Voting will commence on the 1st of November and will run until the 5th of December.

Lawrence Dube, Organising Director for ZAA SA said the awards show has firmly established itself in South Africa and that every year the nominee list keeps getting better.

 "There are so many Zimbabweans who are flying the Zimbabwean flag high in the Rainbow nation everyday, and this annual occasion gives us the opportunity just to say, that we recognise what you are doing and we celebrate you.

The awards are not only about celebrating the success stories of the nominees and winners but are a celebration of individuals that on a day to day basis are influencing people across the world," he added.

The awards ceremony will take place at the Maslow Hotel in Sandton.

Voting lines will open on Tuesday 1st November. Tickets are now on sale and, both voting and ticket purchases can be done at

The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards, first introduced in the UK in 2010 have gone on to become a highlight on the community calendar internationally, bringing together business leaders and innovators from all sectors to celebrate the successes and achievements of people of Zimbabwean heritage living in the UK, South Africa and the United States. There are also plans for expansion to other nations in the next year.

The 2016 Nominees are:

Business of the year

N7 Farmers

Masiwela Events

ZimCon-Transport company


Blue Hills College - Midrand

Business Leaders of the Year

Prof Tawana Kuphe

Bongani Ngqwababa

July Moyo

Ralf Mupita

Female Entrepreneur of the year

Judy Goddard-Masiwela

Sophia Michelle Chitemere

Rina Broomberg

Monalisa Zwambila

Samantha N. Ngcolomba

Male Entrepreneur

Sabelo Sibanda

Nyasha Mudzingwa

Faraimose Kutadzaushe

DJ Kumbula

Godfrey Madanhure

Professional of the year

July Ndlovu

Mavis Ureke

McLean Sibanda

Thabani Ndlovu

Community Champion of the year

Ngungi Vere

Anorld Tsunga

Ngqabutho Nicholas Mabhena

Tendai Ndoro

Janet Munakamwe

Community Organisation of the year

Fair Funeral Parlour

Zim Solidarity Network

Zim Community SA

Academic Excellence of the year

DR Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe

Prof Miracle Benhura

Associate Professor Mucha Musemwa

Prof Amos Saurombe

Prof Caroline Ncube

Media Personality of the Year

Dan Nicholl

Oliver " NaJeska" Keith Siamuloboka

Chichie Mhende

Sunu Gonera

Rangarirayi Chikwene

People's Choice Award

Mothusi Madlela Ndlovu

Baba Tencen

Chichie Mhende

Genius "Ginimbi" Kadungure

Anorld Chirisa

Personality of the Year

Julius Shamhu


Tapfuma Makina

Evangelista Mwatse

Vimbai Musvaburi

Genius "Ginimbi" Kadungure

Music Artist/Group of the Year

Crimson Blue

Berita Khumalo

Nadia Nakai

Jeremy Oliver

Gemma Griffiths

Sports Personality of the Year

Cuthbert Malajila

Eli Syman

Khama Billiat

Willard Katsande

Tendai Ndoro

Young Achiever of the Year

Panashe Chigumadzi

Eli Synman

DR Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe-

Tinashe Chikwanda

Tashinga Mutakwa

Join Bulawayo24 Online Community
Source - Byo24News