Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Deadline set for 2021 Commonwealth education awards

by Stephen Jakes
02 Jul 2020 at 09:06hrs | Views
The Commonwealth has set a deadline for entries into the 2021 Commonwealth education awards for good practice for 31 August 2020.

The bloc said the awards are open to exceptional education institutions, teachers and school leaders leading innovative learning and teaching projects. They can enter as many as six categories such as rethinking education for innovation, rethinking education for work, rethinking education sustainability, education as pathways to peace, education for inclusion and Commonwealth outstanding teacher or school leader

"Head of the Commonwealth's Social Policy Division, Layne Robinson, said: "In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and its unprecedented impact, we understand that the education sector is going through severe disruptions across the world," the bloc said.

"We recognise that individuals and organisations may not have had the necessary time or resources to submit their entries within the current deadline for the Commonwealth education awards. With that in mind, we are extending the deadline to 31 August to accommodate the extra time needed for submissions."

The bloc said this is an excellent opportunity for all those working in the education sector, particularly in the current climate, to present how their work makes a positive difference in their communities.

A pan-Commonwealth panel will judge the entries. Two winners for an outstanding educator and an innovative project will be shortlisted across the six categories.

"The winners will be funded to travel to the Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers in Kenya next year to receive their awards and showcase their work to ministers, senior officials, policy experts, practitioners, teachers and students," the bloc said.

"Entries will be scored on their relevance to the local context, measurable impact, sustainability and innovation, efficiency and effectiveness, community involvement, and ability to be replicated. This year, the awards focus on seeking entries that have worked towards addressing barriers to providing quality education for all, including marginalised groups."

The bloc said educators must be Commonwealth citizens and projects must be running in at least one of the 54 member countries.

"Entries must be received by 6 pm GMT on 31 August 2020 from: a teacher or school leader who has shown outstanding leadership or contribution to improving teaching and learning; and a public or private organisation, including ministries, education bodies and non-profits, whose learning project has made a positive impact on learners. The project must be running for at least 12 months," it said.

"Set up in 2006, the awards recognise educators and projects, which have made a positive impact on students, teachers or the national education system. Send in your entry for the 2021 Commonwealth Education Awards now"

Source - Byo24News