Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

7 Labour MPs resign

by BBC
18 Feb 2019 at 13:27hrs | Views
Reports say Seven MPs have resigned from the UK's Labour Party in protest at Jeremy Corbyn's approach to Brexit and anti-Semitism.

Reports say they are: Chuka Umunna, Luciana Berger, Chris Leslie, Angela Smith, Mike Gapes, Gavin Shuker and Ann Coffey.

Ms Berger said Labour had become institutionally anti-Semitic and she was "embarrassed and ashamed" to stay.

Mr Corbyn said he was "disappointed" the MPs had felt unable to continue working for the policies that "inspired millions" at the 2017 election.

Ms Berger said: "This morning we have all now resigned from the Labour Party. This has been a very difficult, painful, but necessary decision.

"We represent different parts of the country, we are of different backgrounds, we were born of different generations, but we all share the same values" added Ms Berger.

Chris Leslie said Labour had been "hijacked" by the far left.

Ms Berger initially introduced herself as "the Labour Party MP", before correcting herself and saying: "I am the Member of Parliament for Liverpool Wavertree."

The MPs are not launching a new political party but they will sit in Parliament as the independent group.

Source - BBC