Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

18 candidates for Bulawayo's Ward 28 by-election

by Staff reporter
29 Mar 2019 at 06:31hrs | Views
There are 18 candidates contesting for the Bulawayo Ward 28 (Cowdray Park) by-election that is scheduled for Saturday, March 30 in Zimbabwe.

The councillor position for Bulawayo Ward 28 (Cowdray Park) was declared vacant by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) following the death of MDC Alliance councillor Hapson Nyasha Ncube in December 2018

There are a total of 36 polling stations for the Cowdray Park by-election with Sithembiso Khupe as the elections officer while the collation centre will be located at Mkhithika Thebe Primary School.

Candidate statistics

    7 female candidates (38.9%)
    11 male candidates (61.1%)
    7 independent candidates
    18 total candidates

After the nomination court set on Friday, February 22 the following eighteen candidates were nominated as candidates for the Cowdray Park by-election

    Dube Enock Male INDEPENDENT
    Dube Mejury Female UDA
    Gumpo Florah Female MDC-T
    Mashayanyika Albert Male NCA
    Mloyi Nomagugu Female MDC-ALLIANCE
    Mujuru Kidwell Male ZANU PF
    Mukucha George Male INDEPENDENT
    Mushauri Godfrey Male INDEPENDENT
    Ncube Amon Male INDEPENDENT
    Ncube Nkosinothando Female INDEPENDENT
    Ncube Polite Female ZEFF
    Ndhlovu Collet Male MDC-ALLIANCE
    Ndlovu Nokuthula Female ZAPU
    Ngwenya Nicholas Male ZIPP
    Nkala Nkosentsha Male INDEPENDENT
    Nyoni Nkosikona Male MRP
    Nzima Buhle Female NPF
    Tshabangu Stanley Male INDEPENDENT previously reported that there was chaos at a MDC Alliance primary election for the Bulawayo Ward 28 by-election.

This resulted in two MDC Alliance candidates successfully filing their nomination papers specifically Collet Ndhlovu and Nomagugu Mloyi.

Source - povo