Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Jacob Mudenda reverses Chamisa linked CCC appointments

by Staff reporter
30 May 2024 at 08:29hrs | Views
The Speaker of the National Assembly, Advocate Jacob Mudenda, has revoked the appointments of legislators from the CCC to various parliamentary committees. This decision comes after it was observed that their placement in these roles by former Senator Jameson Timba was procedurally flawed.

Advocate Mudenda informed the National Assembly on Tuesday that he had announced the appointment of CCC legislators on February 15 based on a letter from former Senator Timba, claiming to be the interim leader of the CCC Party. However, upon reflection, it was evident that Mr. Timba lacked the authority to represent the party in such a capacity.

"Jameson Timba was recalled from the Senate by the CCC party on November 7, 2023, the party which he purported to represent as the acting leader and administrator. Jameson Timba challenged the recall in the High Court under case number HCH 6684/23 with other former members of the CCC party and lost the court case," stated Advocate Mudenda.

He further explained that Mr. Timba was among the former members of the party barred by the High Court on December 9 of the previous year from contesting the February 3 by-elections under the CCC banner. Considering these circumstances, Advocate Mudenda declared Mr. Timba's communication to Parliament and the subsequent appointments as null and void.

"I am rescinding the announcement made on February 15, 2024, and referring the matter back to the CCC party to make the appropriate appointments," he added.

The CCC faced internal divisions soon after the August 23 harmonized elections, leading to the recall of legislators and councillors nationwide by Mr. Tshabangu.

Among the MPs affected by this decision are Senator Sessel Zvidzai, Ms. Nomathemba Ndlovu, Dr. Shakespear Hamauswa, Mr. Wellington Chikombo, Ms. Sethulo Ndebele, Ms. Concillia Chinanzvavana, Senator Mary-Grace Gwature, Mr. Martin Mureri, Mr. Prosper Mutseyami, Ms. Gladys Hlatshwayo, Senator Maggie Chakabuda, and Ntandoyenkosi Gumede. They held various positions and roles within parliamentary committees and delegations.

Source - The Herald
More on: #Mudenda, #CCC, #Chamisa