Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Soccer

2 Bosso players named in Mapeza's Warriors, 0 from Dembare

by Staff reporter
25 May 2017 at 17:40hrs | Views
Warriors interim coach Norman Mapeza has called up a 25 member squad to begin camp on Monday in preparation for the 2019 AFCON qualifier against Liberia on June 11 at the National Sports Stadium.

The 25 member squad was announced by newly appointed  Warriors manager, Wellington Mupandare, flanked ZIFA spokesperson, Xolisani Gwesela at ZIFA president, Phillip Chiyangwa's offices in the capital today.

Mapeza was absent and said to be busy preparing his side FC Platinum for a match against Caps United following his return from a trip to Turkey.

Mupandare said more players would be added as he was still in talks with some European-based players including English Premiership side Burnely's Tendai Darikwa who could join the camp later.

Both Mupandare and Gwesela denied that players who allegedly led the boycott of the dinner organised by the Vice-President Emmerson Mnangagwa including former captain Willard Katsande, Nyasha Mushekwi, Matthew Rusike and vice-captain Cuthbert Malajila among others had been dropped as per Chiyangwa's orders.

The team is expected to get into camp on Monday and sign a contract with ZIFA on allowances and bonuses before they begin training properly on Tuesday.

From the 2017 AFCON squad only Onismo Bhasera of Supersport, Khama Billiat of Mamelodi Sundowns, Kudakwashe Mahachi of Golden Arrows, Orlando Pirates' Tendai Ndoro, Evans Rusike of Maritzburg United, Marvelous Nakamba of Vitesse Arnhem (Netherlands), Danny Phiri, and Knowledge Musona of KV Oostende (Belgium) were retained.

Newcomers include locals goalkeeper Ariel Sibanda (Highlanders), Edmore Sibanda (Caps United), Dennis Dauda (Caps United), Partson Jaure (Ngezi Platinum), Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn), Jameson Mukombwe, Sydney Linyama (Black Rhinos) and Eric Chipeta (Ajax Capetwon).

Others are Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans-Tanzania), Devon Chafa (Caps United), Simon Shoko (FC Platinum), Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum), Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu-SA), Ronald Chitiyo (Caps United) and Prince Dube (Highlanders).

Warriors full squad:


1.    Edmore Sibanda (Caps United)
2.    Ariel Sibanda (Highlanders)
3.    Petros Mhari (FC Platinum)


1.    Partson Jaure (Ngezi Platinum Stars)
2.    Dennis Dauda (Caps United)
3.    Qadr Amin (Ngezi Platinum Stars)
4.    Onismo Bhasera (Supersport United-SA)
5.    Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn)
6.    Jameson Mukombwe (Black Rhinos)
7.    Eric Chipeta (Ajax Capetown-SA)
8.    Sydney Linyama (Black Rhinos)


1.    Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans-Tanzania)
2.    Devon Chafa (Caps United)
3.    Simon Shoko (FC Platinum)
4.    Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows_SA)
5.    Khama Billiart (Mamelodi Sundowns)
6.    Marvellous Nakamba (Vitesse Arnhem-Netherlands)
7.    Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows)
8.    Liberty Chakoroma (Ngezi Platinum Stars)
9.    Ovidy Karuru (Amazulu-SA)
10.    Ronald Chitiyo (Caps United)


1.    Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates)
2.    Evans Rusike (Maritzburg United-SA)
3.    Knowledge Musona (KV Oostende-Belgium)
4.    Prince Dube (Highlanders)

Source - zbc