Latest News Editor's Choice

News / Local

Bosso thump Yadah

by Staff reporter
17 Sep 2023 at 22:22hrs | Views
Highlanders FC 2-0 Yadah Stars FC
Highlanders FC celebrated a victory against Yadah Stars in a Castle Lager Premiership match held at Barbourfields this afternoon, despite missing numerous scoring opportunities.

Highlanders could have secured more goals if they had been more precise in front of the net and displayed a stronger desire for the league title.

While Highlanders dominated possession, they struggled to convert their chances into goals, which proved to be their biggest downfall. They did, however, put on an impressive performance for their disappointed supporters and managed to secure a narrow win, as has become customary.

The first goal was scored by defender Mbongeni Ndlovu in the 36th minute of the match.

In the dying moments of the game, just as everyone was preparing to leave, substitute Washington Navaya sealed the victory by heading home a well-delivered cross from the right flank, igniting celebrations among the Highlanders' faithful.

Throughout the day, Highlanders had more scoring opportunities compared to their usual standards. They continued to search for a second goal, but their efforts were in vain, creating an exciting and suspenseful atmosphere for the spectators.

Highlanders consistently attacked down the right flank, with Chigumira leading the charge. In contrast, Yadah appeared content to play defensively and look for opportunities to counterattack.

Yadah's goalkeeper, Marshal Takarinda, was the busier of the two goalkeepers, making several crucial saves.

Highlanders introduced young talents Calvin Chigonero and Prince Ndlovu deep into the second half, adding more firepower to the Bulawayo football giants.

Despite Yadah making multiple substitutions in the second half, they found it challenging to break through Highlanders' defense, resulting in a hard-fought victory for the home team.


Ariel Sibanda, Marvelous  Chigumira, Lynoth Chikuhwa, (Manhire 84′ ) Ray Lunga (P Ndlovu 70′) , McKinnon Mushore, Andrew Mbeba, Elsharmar Farasi (C Chigonero 70′), Mason Mushore (W Navaya 84′) , Peter Muduhwa, Mbongeni Ndlovu, Melikhaya Ncube,


Andrew Tandi, Rahman Kutsanzira, Calvin Chigonero, Brighton Manhire, Prince Ndlovu, Raphael Pitisi, Gillian Nyathi, Washington Navaya


Marshal Kakarinda, Prosper Kafelapanjila (N Mlilo 80′),  King Nadolo, Clive Mandivei, Brian Kadamanja, Marvelous Faranando, Anotidaishe Gwatidzo, Blessed Ndereki (R Chifura 54′) , Junior Zindoga ( C Moffat 84′), Jerry Chipangura, Lennox Mucheto


Takunda Vareta, Tanaka Chikumba, Panashe Nyabunga, Russel Chifura, Tawanda Musariri, Charles Moffat, Emmanuel Saidi, Innocent Masiwa, Ndlenkosi Mlilo, Deivid Brito, Juan Farias

Source - The Chroncile