Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Bulawayo's Mashonaland councillors to be sworn-in today

by Staff reporter
31 Aug 2018 at 06:46hrs | Views
MDC Alliance councillors voted into the Bulawayo City Council in the July 30 elections will be sworn in today, setting the stage for a potentially bruising battle over the election of the mayor.

The MDC Alliance, a coalition of parties under the leadership of Mr Nelson Chamisa, won all 29 council seats in Bulawayo but after the polls, there have been simmering tensions over the election of Bulawayo's first citizen.

Bulawayo lawyer Mr Solomon Mguni, a rookie councillor voted in under Ward 23 is said to be the favourite to take up the mayoral post as he enjoys the support of provincial chairperson Mr Gift Banda.

However, he faces resistance from the "old timers" who have served in council before like Mr Earnest Rafomoyo (ward 20) and Mr Silas Chigora (ward 4) who feel that their experience puts them ahead of Mr Mguni in the race.

For the deputy mayor's position Mr Tinashe Kambarami (ward 3), who reportedly enjoys the support of Mr Chamisa clashes with Mr Felix Mhaka (ward 5) who is backed by Mr Banda.

Today's swearing in of councillors will be presided over by the town clerk, Mr Christopher Dube.

In a statement, BCC senior public relations officer Mrs Nesisa Mpofu said the swearing in ceremony will be held at the council chambers.

"In terms of section 47(3) of the Urban Councils Act Chapter 29: 15, before undertaking any duty as such a councillor shall take and subscribe before the town clerk of the council such oath of loyalty and office as may be prescribed.

"To this end a swearing in ceremony shall take place at the council chamber, municipal buildings on Friday, 31 August 2018 at 10am," said Mrs Mpofu.
Of the 29 councillors 13 are returning while the rest are in council for the first time. Seven out of the 29 councillors are women.

The MDC Alliance recently held interviews for interested candidates to fill the two positions.

However, the election of the mayor and deputy mayor has been divisive with the MDC-T leadership meddling in the process instead of allowing councillors to exercise their democratic right to choose desired candidates.

Below is the full list of councillors to be sworn in;
Ward One - Mlandu Ncube; Ward Two - Joyce Ndlovu; Ward Three - Tinashe Kambarami; Ward Four - Silas Chigora; Ward Five - Felix Mhaka; Ward Six - Tawanda Ruzive; Ward Seven - Shadreck Sibanda; Ward eight - Ronniah Mudara; Ward Nine - Donaldson Mabuto; Ward 10 - Sinikiwe Mutanda; Ward 11 - Pilate Moyo; Ward 12 - Lilian Mlilo; Ward 13 - Frank Javangwe; Ward 14 - Mcdonald Chunga; Ward 15 - Febbie Msipa; ward 16 Mildred Ncube; Ward 17 - Sikhulekile Moyo; Ward 18 - Concilia Mlalazi; Ward 19 - Clyton Zana; Ward 20 - Earnest Rafomoyo; Ward 21 - Tinevimbo Maposa; Ward 22 - Rodney Jele; Ward 23 - Solomon Mguni; Ward 24 - Anorld Batirai; Ward 25 - Mzamo Dube; Ward 26 - Norman Hlabani; Ward 27 - Siboniso Khumalo; Ward 28 - Hapson Ncube and Ward 29 - Monicah Lubimbi.

Source - chronicle