Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Zanu-PF dominates rural constituencies, as CCC makes inroads

by Staff reporter
26 Aug 2023 at 08:43hrs | Views
THE early results announced by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (Zec) highlight the continued dominance of the ruling Zanu-PF party in rural areas, while the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) maintains its stronghold in urban centres.

The opposition made significant inroads in Matebeleland North, securing victories in Lupane East, Lupane West and Nkayi South, among other constituencies.

In Bulawayo, the opposition CCCC achieved a clean sweep of all the contested seats, according to early results released by Zec.

CCC deputy spokesperson Gift Siziba thanked the opposition supporters for voting overwhelmingly for Nelson Chamisa's party.

"Fellow citizens, thank you for your tenacity, determination, and amazing resolve. Your determination to un-rig this election, in the face of FAZ [Forever Associates Zimbabwe], voter suppression, among other shenanigans, has sent an unequivocal message to the outgoing Harare regime," he said.

In Harare, the opposition emerged victorious in 23 out of the 26 constituencies, with only five constituencies left to be decided.

Mashonaland Central witnessed a complete victory for Zanu-PF, with the party winning all 18 parliamentary seats.

Prominent figures such as ministers Kazembe Kazembe (Home Affairs), Zhemu Soda (Energy), and businessman Kenneth Musanhi retained their constituencies.

In Masvingo, Zanu-PF secured victory in 17 out of the 19 contested seats in the province.

In Chiredzi North, Zanu-PF's candidate Roy Bhila managed to retain the seat with an impressive 18 696 votes, surpassing CCC candidate Fungai Chamisa, who got 2 584.

Similarly, in Chiredzi South, Joel Sithole of Zanu-PF secured victory with 11 552 votes, defeating Douglas Gumbo of the CCC party, who garnered 7,528 votes.

In Chiredzi East, Siyaki Mundungehama of Zanu-PF secured a resounding victory with 14 265 votes, surpassing Godfrey Maluleke of CCC, who received 3 922 votes.

Chiredzi Central witnessed a reversal of fortunes, with Francis Moyo of Zanu-PF receiving 7 832 votes, while Ropafadzo Makumire of CCC secured 12 342 votes.

In Mashonaland West, Zanu-PF claimed victory in all Hurungwe constituencies, while the CCC secured victories in Chinhoyi, Norton, Zvimba and Magunje.

CCC's Leslie Mhangwa also secured victory in the Chinhoyi seat. CCC candidate Maxwell Mavhunga won the Chitungwiza South seat after polling 10 145 votes.

In Gwanda-Tshitaudze constituency, Zanu-PF's Fisani Moyo emerged victorious with 8 671 votes, defeating CCC's Jastone Mazhale, who received 5 889 votes.

Source - newsday
More on: #Zanu-PF, #Seats, #Vote