Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

MDC Press Statement

by Byo24NEWS
10 Jan 2011 at 10:43hrs | Views
The Movement for Democratic Change would like to announce to the nation and the world at large the major results from the 3rd Congress running under the theme "Celebrating our diversity, creating a fair Zimbabwe" currently taking place in Harare. The party pays tribute to the sacrifice and dedication shown by the cadres in the building of the movement to its present state and the success of this congress.

The congress recognizes that this commitment and resilience is beyond description or measure, it is through this priceless service that the democratic revolution is still on course up to this day. The challenging environment characterized by the oppressive system that the enemy continues to guard made it much worse but the genuine and loyal cadres family stood the taste of time.

This congress is a clear testimony of our commitment to democracy and the practice of what we preach. In the highest standards of fairness found in any thriving democracy the congress has elected a new leadership in line with the party constitution and values. While conformity to term limit and transfer of power remain a challenge to other political parties who pretend to fight to democracy our congress is a testimony that this is possible in this country and of course in this generation.

The congress elected Prof  Welshman Ncube to the position of  the President.

Prof  Welshman Ncube a professor of constitutional law, a founder member of the National Constitutional Assembly and the MDC. He is the founding secretary-general of the united MDC, a position he held after the split of the MDC to the 3rd Congress in 2011.  He has a Member of Parliament for Bulawayo East for two terms. Currently he is he Minister of Industry and International Trade in the Government of National Unity. He is one of the MDC negotiators, also national co-chairmen of JOMIC and Copac.

For the position of the Deputy President Edwin Mushoriwa was elected. He is currently the party's Secretary for Information and Publicity therefore the spokesperson of the party. He has served for two terms as the Member of Parliament for Dzivarasekwa for two terms. At the formation of the MDC he was the National Secretary for Economic Affairs until he was appointed to his present position.

Priscilla Misihairabwi-Mushonga was elected for the position of the Secretary General. She is a veteran if the struggle for woman emancipation in Zimbabwe, a founder member of the NCA, in the inception of the MDC she was elected the Member Parliament for Glenorah for two terms. Currently in the Government of National Unity she is the Minister of Regional Integration and International Co-operation.

Moses Mzila Ndlovu was nominated for the position of the of the Deputy Secretary General. He is an ex-combatant, a freedom fighter Mzila has been the Provincial Chairperson of the party for Matabeleland South since the party formation. He is the Member of Parliament for Bulilima from 2000 to present. He is currently the co-Minister of the National Healing and Reconciliation. He is a veteran educationist.

The party deployed Paul Themba Nyathi to the position of Treasurer General. He was the National Director of Elections, a veteran of the struggle for Independence, PT as he is known within the party is prominent civil rights activist after independence, a founding spokesperson of the MDC. He has served as the Member of Parliament for Gwanda North for one term at the formation of MDC where he was also appointed a member of the Pan-African parliament.

THERESA MARIMAZHIRA- has been nominated to the position of Deputy Treasurer General. She was the Secretary General of the Women' Assembly having risen through the ranks from the position of the secretary of the province in the Midlands.
Goodrich Chimbaira he has been elected the national chairman of the party.

He is a former member of Parliament for Zengeza Constituency up to 2005, having been a councilor in ward 20 in Chitungwiza at the formation of MDC, he rose through the ranks to the position of Chitungwiza provincial chairperson which he holds to date. He has been nominated to the position of National chairperson by ten provinces.

Source - Byo24NEWS