Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Mnangagwa appoints tribunal to look into removal of judge Edith Mushore from office

by Mandla Ndlovu
05 Apr 2022 at 13:40hrs | Views
 President Emmerson Mnangagwa has issued a proclamation appointing a tribunal chaired by Retired justice Maphios Cheda to inquire into the removal from the bench of High Court judge Edith Mushore. She has not reported for duty for months and the Judicial Service Commission says it does not know her whereabouts.

Justice Mushore is one of the judges who ruled last year that Luke Malaba ceased to be Chief Justice upon reaching mandatory retirement age. According to Statutory Instrument 68 of 2022, the tribunal will present its findings after five months.

She last reported for work in June last year. According to law judges cannot be absent form work for more than three days without official leave.

Read the full proclamation below:

WHEREAS section 187(1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, provides that, a judge may be removed from office only for inability to perform the functions of his or her office, due to mental or physical incapacity, gross incompetence, or gross misconduct;

AND WHEREAS section 187(3) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe provides that, if the Judicial Service Commission advises the President that the question of removing a judge, from office ought to be investigated, the President must appoint a tribunal to inquire into the matter;

AND WHEREAS the Judicial Service Commission, by letter dated 25th February, 2022, formally advised the President that the question of removal from office of the Honourable Justice Edith Mushore, ought to be investigated;

AND WHEREAS section 187(4) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, provides that, the President may, when he considers it advisable, appoint a tribunal consisting of three (3) or more members;

AND WHEREAS section 187(9) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, provides that, a tribunal appointed under section 187 has the same rights and powers as commissioners under the Commissions of Inquiry Act [Chapter 10:07], or any law that replaces that Act;

AND WHEREAS the President may authorise the tribunal or Members or any quorum of them specified in the proclamation into any matter in which any inquiry would, in the opinion of the President, be of public welfare:

NOW, THEREFORE, under and by virtue of the powers vested in the President as afore said, I do, by this proclamation

(a) establish a Tribunal to inquire into the question of removal from office of the Honourable Justice Edith Mushore;
(b) appoint Retired Justice Maphios Cheda; as Chairperson of the Tribunal;
(c)  appoint the Secretary for Justice,Legal and Parliamentary Affairs to be the Secretary to the Tribunal:
(d) direct that the Tribunal shall be held for a period of five (5) months from the date of swearing in of Members, at such appropriate venue as shall be determined by the Tribunal;
(e) direct that the report shall be availed at the conclusion of the inquiry;
(f) direct that the Terms of Reference shall be as follows
(i) to investigate into the matter of the removal from office of Honourable Justice Edith Mushore;
 (ii) to investigate whether or not there is a reasonable explanation for Honourable Justice Edith Mushore's failure to report for work without authorisation;
(iii) to investigate into the matter of Honourable Justice Edith Mushore's conduct, whether it can be deemed to have been tantamount to gross misconduct;
(iv) to consider all information submitted by the Judicial Service Commission in order to arrive at an appropriate recommendation to the President;
(v) to investigate any other matter which the Tribunal may deem appropriate and relevant to the question of removal from office of a Judge in terms of the law;
(vi) to recommend on whether the Honourable Judge, is fit to hold office in the light of the foregoing;
(vii) to report to the President, in writing. the result of the inquiry within a period of five (5) months from the date of swearing in of the Members;

(g) direct that the inquiry shall be held both in public, or privately. as the exigencies of the Tribunal may determine; and

(h) appoint the Members listed in the Schedule.


1. Retired Justice Maphios Cheri, Chairperson
2. Mr. Charles Warara, Member
3. Mrs. Yvonne Masvora, Member

Given under my hand and the Public Seal of Zimbabwe at Harare this 25th day of March. in the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty-two.

By Command of the President.
E. D. MNANGAGWA, President.

Source - Byo24News