Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Cricket

Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by 6 runs

by Sports reporter
11 May 2013 at 21:44hrs | Views
Zimbabwe 168 for 5 (Masakadza 59, Taylor 40, Shakib 2-20) beat Bangladesh 162 for 8 (Shakib 65, Shamsur 53, Panyangara 3-32) by six runs

Zimbabwe held their nerve to register a six-run victory over Bangladesh in the first Twenty20.

Needing ten runs in the last over, Bangladesh could only make three, losing the wicket of Mushfiqur Rahim, who went after playing a cameo (28 off 14), very early in the over.

While Tinashe Panyangara picked up three wickets, Prosper Utseya contributed with two.

The first-ever Twenty20 at the Queens Sports Club ground in Bulawayo was a thriller with the home team squeezing home by six runs. Zimbabwe fought back mightily when it mattered and Bangladesh imploded just when they could smell the win. The visitors collapsed from 120 for 1 in the 15th over to being kept down to 162 for 8 off the final ball of the game. Tinashe Panyangara bowled a terrific final over, giving away just three runs as the Bangladesh lower-order failed to play smartly.

Zimbabwe had earlier made 168 for 5 after deciding to bat first. Hamilton Masakadza struck his seventh fifty while captain Brendan Taylor made a quickfire 40 as they put Zimbabwe on course for a big total. Bangladesh were brought back into the game by their spinners after the Taylor-Masakadza partnership ended, with Shakib Al Hasan getting both wickets and bowling economically in between.

Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor chose to bat after winning the toss, his fifth in a row, in the first Twenty20 international in Bulawayo.

The home side made two changes to the XI that won the third ODI, bringing in legspinner Tinotenda Mutombodzi and pace bowler Tinashe Panyangara in place of the injured Elton Chigumbura and Kyle Jarvis. Chigumbura suffered a groin strain during the third ODI while Jarvis was rested.

Bangladesh drafted in Shamsur Rahman, Sohag Gazi and Sajidul Islam in place of Mohammad Ashraful, Jahurul Islam and Robiul Islam, who played the final ODI. Shamsur played Bangladesh's last Twenty20, but got out for a duck. Gazi returned to the team after missing the entire ODI series, while Sajidul Islam was making his Twenty20 debut.

The two teams were playing their first Twenty20 since the 2006 encounter, which was the inaugural match in this format for both sides. This is also the first Twenty20 to be played at the Queens Sports Club ground in Bulawayo.

Zimbabwe: 1 Vusi Sibanda, 2 Hamilton Masakadza, 3 Sikandar Raza, 4 Brendan Taylor (capt & wk), 5 Malcolm Waller, 6 Sean Williams, 7 Tinotenda Mutombodzi, 8 Tinashe Panyangara, 9 Tendai Chatara, 10 Prosper Utseya, 11 Brian Vitori.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Shamsur Rahman, 3 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Nasir Hossain, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Ziaur Rahman, 8 Abdur Razzak, 9 Sohag Gazi, 10 Shafiul Islam, 11 Sajidul Islam.

Source - Byo24Sports