Latest News Editor's Choice

News / Local

CCC legislators ejected, suspended

by Staff reporter
15 Dec 2023 at 07:21hrs | Views
Rowdy CCC legislators were ejected yesterday from the National Assembly for disturbing the swearing-in ceremony of the nine new constituency legislators elected during the by-elections held on Saturday.

The by-elections were triggered by the recall of nine constituency CCC legislators in October by the party's interim secretary-general Mr Sengezo Tshabangu after they ceased to be members of the opposition party.

Speaker of the National Assembly Advocate Jacob Mudenda ejected the rowdy CCC MPs and also suspended them for the next four sittings for heckling the new Mabvuku-Tafara legislator Zanu-PF's Pedzai Sakupwanya, who was elected unopposed in the polls as the candidature of CCC's member Kufahakutizwi Febion Munyaradzi had been set aside by the High Court since he had been expelled from the CCC.

Out of the eight other National Assembly seats contested, Zanu-PF clinched six in Binga North (Chineka Muchimba), Beitbridge West (Thusani Ndou), Bulawayo South (Rajeshkumari Modi), Cowdray Park (Arthur Mujeyi), Lupane East (Phathisiwe Machangu) and Nketa (Albert Tawanda Mavunga).

CCC only managed to win back two seats, Lobengula-Magwegwe (Tendayi Nyathi Chitura) and Mpopoma-Mzilikazi (Charles Moyo).

Source - The Herald