Latest News Editor's Choice

Opinion / Columnist

Why are Mat'land varsities 'National' or 'State' while Mashonaland ones are not

21 Sep 2014 at 10:41hrs | Views
Mashonaland Universities

1.Harare - Harare Insitute of Technology
2.Manicaland - Manicaland University
3.Mashonaland East - Mashonaland East University
4.Mash West - Chinhoyi University of Technology

Mat'land/Midlands Universities

1.Bulawayo - NATIONAL University of Science and Technology
2.Midlands - Midlands STATE University.
3.Mat'South - Gwanda STATE University
4.Mat'North - Lupane STATE University

Call me a divisionist, tribal discriminator, archaic or whatever, but I shall not stop questioning things that are clearly anti-freedom, anti-peace and pro-conflict, anti-national building and pro-war.

Our universities are named "STATE" or "NATIONAL" universities so that Shona people can claim them as "national institutions" to which they should not be barred from attending, and yet theirs are clearly marked off-limits as they are for Mashonaland East, West, Manicaland, Harare, etc. This is not only unfortunate but deplorable!

Source - Ndzimu-unami Emmanuel Moyo
All articles and letters published on Bulawayo24 have been independently written by members of Bulawayo24's community. The views of users published on Bulawayo24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Bulawayo24. Bulawayo24 editors also reserve the right to edit or delete any and all comments received.