Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Cricket

Chevrons squad to tour Srilanka (2022)

by Energy Mavaza
08 Jan 2022 at 20:50hrs | Views
Yesterday the Zimbabwe Cricket announced a 15 men squad, captained by Craig Ervine to face Srilanka in a 3 ODI match tour in Srilanka. The games scheduled for 16, 18 and 21 January 2022 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy, are part of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League.

The squad includes the uncapped duo of opening batter Takudzwanashe Kaitano and wicketkeeper Clive Madande, while all-rounder Tino Mutombodzi has made his return to the national side after an outstanding display with the bat in Eagles colors. Sean Williams also returns to the squad after his retirement announcement during the tour of Ireland and Scotland in August -Sepetember last year.

Wessly Madhevere, Milton Shumba, Ryan Burl and Wellington Masakadza are some of the returnees to the squad that has little to no surprise omisions. Veteran all-rounder Donald Tiripano who has signed with Sandford for the Devon Cricket league in England is among the list of the notable missing players in the 15 men squad. Tadiwanashe Marumani and Timycen Maruma could not make it in the squad either, regardless their consistency with the bat in the domestic cricket.


Ervine Craig (captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Jongwe Luke, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Mutombodzi Tinotenda, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean.

Source - Energy Mavaza