Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Rugby

Mutawarira versus Ngwenya at 2015 Rugby World Cup

by Ngoni Dapira
20 Sep 2015 at 12:19hrs | Views
GROUP B will be the main group for Zimbabweans at the 2015 Rugby World Cup that kicks off next week Friday in England.The Group consists of South Africa, United States of America, Samoa, Japan and Scotland.

Of interest will be the clash between South Africa's Springboks and America's Eagles, which will pit two Zimbabweans, Tendai 'Beast Mtawarira and Takudzwa Ngwenya respectively.

Apart from the Zimbabwean's clash, it will be the clash between South Africa's Bryan Habana and Ngwenya following Ngwenya's spectacle at the 2007 RWC in the match against the Springboks.

Ngwenya, an amateur at that time had one man to beat, Habana, who was a heralded rugby player considered the fastest at the tournament.

Ngwenya straightened his line before stepping and burning down the outside, leaving Habana for dead earning what was considered the International Rugby Board try of the year in 2007.

Ngwenya along with his captain, Chris Wyles, Mike Petri, Mate Moeakiola and Louis Stanfill will appear in their third Rugby World Cup for the Eagles.

Among those making their debuts in the Eagles will be Samu Manoa, one of 13 players professionally contracted overseas - who earned his first international cap in November 2010.

Uncapped hooker Joseph Taufete'e is also among the 20 players with no previous Rugby World Cup experience.

The Eagles have hosted two of their Pool B opponents - Japan and Samoa - in the United States in the past two months. Japan were beaten 23-18 in the Pacific Nations Cup, while Samoa were ran close before edging the Eagles 21-16 in the same competition.

USA RWC 2015 squad:
Danny Barrett, Chris Baumann, Cameron Dolan, Andrew Durutalo, Zach Fenoglio, Eric Fry, Olive Kilifi, Titi Lamositele, Scott LaValla, Samu Manoa, Matekitonga Moeakiola, Al McFarland, Greg Peterson, John Quill, Hayden Smith, Louis Stanfill, Joseph Taufete'e, Phil Thiel, Seamus Kelly, Niku Kruger, AJ MacGinty, Takudzwa Ngwenya, Folau Niua, Thretton Palamo, Mike Petri, Blaine Scully, Andrew Suniula, Shalom Suniula, Zack Test, Brett Thompson, Chris Wyles (captain).

SA RWC 2015 squad:
Willem Alberts, Schalk Brits, Schalk Burger, Damian De Allende, Lood de Jager, Jean de Villiers (captain), Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Fourie du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Siya Kolisi, Jesse Kriel, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Francois Louw, Frans Malherbe, Victor Matfield (vice-capt), Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Rudy Paige, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Handré Pollard, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Duane Vermeulen.

Source - manicapost