Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Mutsvangwa failed to make the cut

by Staff reporter
08 Sep 2018 at 10:25hrs | Views
President Emmerson Mnangagwa appointed a 20-member cabinet with some surprise new inclusions while some Zanu PF heavyweights who had almost become permanent features in successive governments since independence were conspicuous by their absence.

Garrulous Minister and close Mnangagwa ally, Chris Mutsvangwa could not make it to cabinet again after losing his bid to recover his Norton seat although the famous Mutsvangwa couple could be wearing half a smile after Monica Mutsvangwa was handed the Information portfolio.

Ex-war veterans minister Tshinga Dube also failed to make it onto the gravy train after he lost his Makokoba seat while fawning ex-Defence Minister and Mugabe's choice of successor, Sydney Sekeramayi could also not make it to cabinet. Sekeramayi had become a career cabinet minister after he had miraculously survived through successive governments under Mugabe.

For all the zealous defence and praise of Mnangagwa, former Finance Deputy Minister Terrence Mukupe emerged empty handed. Mukupe lost his Harare East seat to MDC Alliance's Tendai Biti.

Despite apparent canvassing for a cabinet job, Norton MP and Mnangagwa apologist Temba Mliswa failed to recognised again, maybe as punishment for dumping Mnangagwa's man – Mutsvangwa – from parliament. The former Zimbabwe diplomat to China was thoroughly trounced in the just ended elections by Mliswa.

Obert Mpofu and Patrick Chinamasa also fell by the wayside after Mnangagwa failed to consider them into his new cabinet.

Also among the missing lot were Simon Khaya Moyo, Mike Bimha and Supa Mandiwanzira.

They were in charge of energy, trade and ICT, respectively.

David Parirenyatwa, who was health minister, was also not part of the new cabinet.

President Mnangagwa told journalists after the announcement that all those ministers who did not make it to his new government shall be redeployed to the party.

Mnangagwa made no attempt to appoint into his new administration, any opposition politician.

Source - newzimbabwe