Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Soccer

Dembare through to Caf Champions League first round

by Eddie Chikamhi
17 Feb 2014 at 08:12hrs | Views
Mochudi Centre Chiefs 1-1 Dynamos
(Dynamos win 4-1 on aggregate)
HARARE giants Dynamos, are through to the first round of the Caf Champions League despite playing a draw against Mochudi Centre Chiefs at the National Stadium in Gaborone yesterday.

Dembare, who won the first leg 3-0 in Harare last week, could have easily completed a double over their opponents after Ronald Chitiyo had given them the upperhand two minutes before the break but they conceded late in the second half when big striker Onaletshata Tshekiso levelled the terms.

The result, however, was still good for Callisto Pasuwa's men who took a 4-1 aggregate victory.  Dembare took the lead just before the half-time break when midfielder Chitiyo finished off a fine move started by Masimba Mambare on the right wing.

Mambare beat two defenders and received the return pass before squaring the ball back into the box. The ball found Chitiyo at the right place and the former Monomotapa man made no mistake from close-range much to the delight of the Dembare fans, who outnumbered their opponents by far.

Chitiyo, who had a rather quiet first half before upping the tempo in the second period, fired the ball home with a rising effort that beat goalkeeper Raphael Nthwane to give Dembare the lead.

From then on it meant the hosts needed to score five goals while shutting out Dynamos in the second half, a feat that looked impossible.

Chiefs, however, found the equaliser from second half substitute Tshekiso who beat George Chigova to his near post with a ferocious right-footer on the 70th minute.

Mochudi Centre Chiefs: R Nthwane, P Moloi (Mmualebhe, 79th minutes), S Molebatsi, K Mophane, A Chaka,T Khunwane, E Meleka, P Lenyeletse (Tshekiso, 67th minute), O Pilane, B Fraser, L Tshireletso (Galenamotlhale, 55th minute).

Dynamos: G Chigova, O Machapa, A Mbara, P Jaure, S Linyama, S Alimenda, T Muparati (T Rusike, 63rd minute), W Mukanga, M Mambare (C Sekete, 77th minute), R Chitiyo, W Pakamisa (S Sithole, 68th minute).

Source - The Herald