Latest News Editor's Choice

Entertainment / Local

Oskido fails to win 19 SAMAs Record of the year

by Arts reporter
12 May 2013 at 09:08hrs | Views
Oskido, the legend of South African house music, never fails in releasing banging beats that take the industry by storm, and this latest offering is nothing less than a masterpiece but it failed to bag a gong at this year's MTN South Africa Music Awards ceremony held yesterday at Sun City in South Afica. It's titled Tsa Ma Ndebele and it features vocals from Canndy.

Oskido continues to contribute massively to the South African music industry, and he definitely is a legend in his own right but it is amazing how the master failed to get enough votes to clinch MTN Record of the Year.

Oskido's Tsa Mandebele was nominated along with the albums below.

Record of the Year nominees

Father To Be - Black Motion
Wa Muhle - B.O.P
I Deserve- Donald
Stokvel - DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota
Bosso - HHP
Walking Away - ChianoSky
Colour of You- Kabomo
Lifeline - Elvis Blue
Hero - Lloyd Cele
Still - Liquideep
Heavenly Sent - MiCasa
Thetha Nami - Riot
Move - Khaya
Tsa Mandebele - Oskido
Wake Up - Teargas
Kulungile Baba - Sfiso Ncwane
Love Is In The Air - Toya Delazy
Umthwalo - Zahara
IStokvel - Vetkuk

The full list of winners of SAMA19:

Album of the Year
Khuli Chana -  Lost in Time

Duo or Group of the Year
Freshlyground - Take Me to the Dance

Female Artist of the Year
Kelly Khumalo - The Past, The Present, The Future

Male Artist of the Year
Khuli Chana - Lost in Time

Newcomer of the Year
Toya Delazy - Due Drop Deluxe

Best Rock Album
Zebra & Giraffe - The Wisest Ones

Best Pop Album
Toya Delazy Due - Drop Deluxe

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Elvis Blue - Journey

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Theuns Jordaan - Roeper

Best African Adult Album
Maleh - Step Child

Best Alternative Album
iScream & The Chocolate Stix - The Paradox

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
Khaya - For You

Best Rap Album
Khuli Chana - Lost in Time

Best Kwaito Album
Professor - The Orientation

Best Dance Album
Black Coffee - Africa Rising

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Various - Spirit of Praise Vol.4

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Ntokozo Mbambo - Filled

Best Traditional Album
Soul Brothers Isiphithiphithi

Best Maskandi Album
Ichwane Lebhaca-  Inkunzi Yomthakathi

Best Jazz Album
Herbie Tsoaeli - African Time

Best Classic & Instrumental Album
CH2 - CH2 Guitar Duo Live with the University of Pretoria Symphony  Orchestra

Best Live DVD
The Captured Tour Concert Film - Lira

Best Collaboration
Riot Feat. Zahara - Thetha Nami

Best Music Video of the Year
Claudio Pavan for Honey Spiders by The Parlotones

Best Producer
Jax Panik for Due Drop Deluxe by Toya Delazy

Best Engineer
Mark Beling for Strong by BlackByrd

Remix of the Year
DJ Kent for Thinking about You Ft. Zonke  DJ Kent Remix (Theo Kgosinkwe)

Best Selling DVD
Vol. 16 Live at Carnival City - Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Album
Roeper - Theuns Jordaan

Best Selling Tru-Tone
Follow Me - DJ Cleo ft. Teddy Bears

Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone
Loliwe - Zahara

Best Selling Full-Track Download
You're The Voice Shout/J23 - Artists for a safer South Africa

Heavenly Sent - Mi Casa

Shipping vehicles from UK to Zimbabwe for less
Source - Byo24Arts