Latest News Editor's Choice

News / Local

Zimbabwe name strong WC squad

by Staff reporter
16 Sep 2022 at 06:07hrs | Views
CAPTAIN Craig Ervine has returned to the Zimbabwe national cricket team squad ahead of the T20 World Cup tournament in Australia next month.

Zimbabwe Cricket announced the 15-member squad that did not contain any surprises.

Tendai Chatara, who had been declared a major doubt for the tournament, has regained fitness in time to make the squad.

Ervine had been sidelined by a hamstring problem since early August and missed the home series against Bangladesh and India as well as the tour to Australia.

Zimbabwe also received a timely boost with Wellington Masakadza and Milton Shumba recovering from, shoulder tendon and quadricep injuries, respectively, to make the squad.

Blessing Muzarabani, who was part of the side that recently toured Australia for a one-day international series, but did not play a single game, is now fit enough to spearhead the team's bowling attack.

Regis Chakabva, Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams were obvious choices, with Bradley Evans, Tony Munyonga and Clive Madande also making the cut.

The selectors named Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi and Tanaka Chivanga as the non-travelling reserves.

Zimbabwe's campaign at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 will start on October 17, when they face Ireland in the first of three Group B matches that will be played at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania.

They will take on the West Indies on October 19 and then complete their first-round action against Scotland on October 21.

The top two teams from Group B make it to the Super 12 stage, along with the top two teams from Group A which features Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, Netherlands and Namibia.

The top two teams from each of the two Super 12 groups will advance to the semi-finals.

Before the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 proper gets underway, Zimbabwe will face Sri Lanka and Namibia in warm-up matches scheduled for 10 and 13 October in Melbourne.

Zimbabwe squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022:

Ervine Craig (captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Evans Bradley, Jongwe Luke, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Munyonga Tony, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean

Reserves: Chivanga Tanaka, Kaia Innocent, Kasuza Kevin, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Nyauchi Victor

Source - Newsday Zimbabwe
More on: #Zimbabwe, #Cricket, #Team