Latest News Editor's Choice

Sports / Local

Easy opening fixture for Bosso's PSL campaign

by Moyo Roy
22 Mar 2012 at 16:21hrs | Views
Highlanders FC is set to kick-off its league campaign against a rebranded Blue Rangers side on 31 March 2012 when the local Premier Soccer League calender kicks off.

After what appears to be a relatively easy home fixture, Bosso will surely be put under the severest of tests when they engage last season runners up and Rahman Gumbo led FC Platinum a week later.

The fading Bulawayo giants, who finished in an unfamiliar seventh place on the log, will look for better fortunes this year.

Bulawayo fans will not have to wait long for the first big clash against nemesis Dynamos, as Bosso host the Harare giants at Barbourfields on April 28.

However, they will wait until the end of May for the first Bulawayo derby of their campaign as Highlanders host city rivals Chicken Inn.

Highlanders have endured a lean spell since then, without a league title in the past half-a-dozen years, although they remain the country's most successful football club, on the domestic scene, since the turn of the millennium.

Bosso last won the league title in  2006 under the guidance of former player Methembe Ndlovu who now owns Bantu Rovers.

Bosso have won three league titles since 2000, the most by any football club in the country, with their main rivals, Dynamos and CAPS United, winning two league championships each.

Today, 22 March 2012, Highlanders released the names of its 30 men squad with 9 new signings.

Full squad Highlanders 2012 squad.

Goalkeepers: Ariel Sibanda, Archiford Katsande, Munyaradzi Diya

Defenders: Innocent Mapuranga, Tendai Ndlovu, Lawson Nkomo, Lewis Ncube (jrs), Status Nsingo (jrs), Atlast Musasa, Dumisani Ndlovu, Bruce Tshuma, Honest Moyo.

Midfielders: Simon Munawa, Eric Mudzingwa, Munyaradzi Tongai, Mthulisi Maphosa, Bhekimpilo Ncube, Milton Ncube, Bruce Kangwa, Arnold Ndiweni, Knox Mutizwa, Bobby Nkomo (jrs), Peter Moyo, Heriteini Masuku

Strikers: Graham Ncube, Mgcini Sibanda (jrs), Berven Chikaka, Masimba Mambare, Ozias Zibande (jrs), Ryan Knowles (jrs).

New coach, Kelvin Kaindu, a former Bosso players vowed to turn the fortune of the team round.

Source - Byo24Sports