Latest News Editor's Choice

Entertainment / Music

Jah Prayzah wins MTV award

by Staff reporter
24 Oct 2016 at 09:23hrs | Views
AFTER numerous nominations and accolades locally, Jah Prayzah has landed his first continental award as he landed an Mtv Africa Music Awards (MAMAs) held in South Africa on Saturday night.

The Mudhara Vachauya hit-maker won the Listeners' Choice award ahead of a massive 20 other nominees in the category at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The awards were presented by Bonang Matheba, who replaced Trevor Noah and was assisted  by Nomzamo Mbatha and Yemi Alade.

Jah Prayzah who was not at the award ceremony but performing in Harare, shared his joy on Facebook with fans.

"Masoja woye! Handina mashoko kani! Tautora mukombe uya weListener's Choice kuma MAMA Awards kuJoburg. Unfortunately I couldn't make it there but I just want to thank you all so much masoja for the support! Ndirikushaya pekubata nemufaro, I am tearing up!"

His win for fans is a huge step in the right direction for Zimbabwe's music to get a foothold on the African continent and be recognised.

Others were disappointed that Jah Prayzah did not travel to South Africa to mix and mingle with fellow African stars.

Jah Prayzah said he was fully booked for the weekend and could not renege on his contractual obligations.

"I didn't travel to South Africa because the second batch of MAMA nominations were released in October and I was already booked by people. The people would have paid their monies in full and we couldn't disappoint them. For instance I had a show in Kariba at Nyamhunga Stadium, and there was a private function at Meikles Hotel. The private function was a family celebrating their mother's 50th birthday. You can imagine the sentimental value that holds for the family only for us to disappoint them," said Jah Prayzah.

The full list of winners.

The MTV Africa Music Awards Full List of 2016 Winners
Artist of the Year: Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Best Male: Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best Group: Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Best Breakthrough Act: Tekno (Nigeria)
Best Live Act: Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Best Hip Hop in association with MTN: Emtee (South Africa)
Song of the Year in partnership with Google: "My Woman, My Everything" Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
Listener's Choice: Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Video of the Year: "Niquer Ma Vie" – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon
Best Pop & Alternative: Shekinah & Kyle  Deutsch (South Africa)
Best Francophone: Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Best Lusophone: C4 Pedro (Angola)
Personality of the Year in association with DSTV: Caster Semenya (South Africa)
Legend Award: Hugh Masekela
Best Collaboration: DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Buckz – "Soweto Baby" (South Africa/Nigeria)
Africa Reimagined: Vivian Onano and Mary Taedzerwa
Best International: Drake (USA)

Shipping vehicles from UK to Zimbabwe for less
Source - online