Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Brian Molefe smeared by Corruption Watch?

by Staff reporter
08 Jun 2024 at 10:00hrs | Views
The Pretoria High Court on Friday, 07 June 2024, announced the withdrawal of the case brought by the Oppenheimer-funded Corruption Watch against former Eskom CEO Brian Molefe and several high-ranking officials.

The case, filed in November 2018, sought court declarations that the implicated directors acted with gross negligence and breached their statutory duties.

The Themba Maseko-led Corruption Watch aimed to have the loadshedding-ending CEO Molefe and his co-accused, Mark Pamensky, Anoj Singh, Venete Jarlene Klein, and Zethembe Wilfred Khoza, declared delinquent directors under section 162(5)(c) of the Companies Act. The applicant also requested punitive costs against the respondents, including the costs of three counsel.

In a statement captured in the withdrawal paper: "the Applicant withdraws the application under the abovementioned case number against the Fourth Respondent by agreement between the Parties, each Party to bear their own costs."

Brian Molefe, once praised for significant improvements during his tenure at Eskom, saw his career marred by ongoing legal battles.

Molefe served as acting CEO from April 2015 and was appointed permanently in September 2015, resigning in November 2016.

During his time at Eskom, Molefe made improved financial performance and operational stability. He often highlighted efforts to reduce loadshedding (scheduled power cuts due to a shortage of supply), which had been a significant issue before his leadership.

In terms of financial performance, Eskom did see some improvements. In the financial year ending March 2016, Eskom reported a net profit of R4.6 billion, up from R200 million in the previous year. This improvement was attributed to increased revenue from higher electricity tariffs and cost control measures.

Corruption Watch Board:

1. Themba Maseko (Chairperson)
2. Karam Singh
3. Zukiswa Kota
4. Bridgette Mdangayi
5. Marianne Giddy (nee Camerer)
6. Gugu Mclaren-Ushewokunze
7. Karabo Rajuli

Funders and Partners:

1. Claude Leon Foundation
2. Constitutionalism Fund
3. Elma Foundation
4. Ford Foundation
5. GIZ
6. The David & Elaine Potter Foundation
7. Potter Foundation
8. Oppenheimer Memorial Trust
9. Open Society Foundation
10. Millennium Trust
11. TI Secretariat
12. Antony Ball Foundation
13. The RES Foundation
14. Yellowwood

Source - online