Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Newly promoted senior cops to be reshuffled

by Staff reporter
24 May 2024 at 08:26hrs | Views
The 86 senior officers recently promoted within the Zimbabwe Republic Police (ZRP) are expected to be reassigned shortly. President Mnangagwa elevated these officers to ranks ranging from Chief Superintendent to Commissioner.

Among the promotions, 17 officers advanced from Assistant Commissioner to Commissioner, 28 moved up from Chief Superintendent to Assistant Commissioner, and 41 were elevated from Superintendent to Chief Superintendent.

The ZRP regularly reassigns officers to maintain a broad national perspective and to prevent long-term attachment to specific posts. National police spokesperson Commissioner Paul Nyathi emphasized the routine nature of these transfers, stating, "There is nothing sinister about transfers. They are part of police work, and there is a need to rotate officers."

Commissioner-General of Police has the authority to implement these transfers, aligning officers with the needs of the ZRP. Some officers will be reassigned to address gaps within the police services, supporting the organization's human resource strategy aimed at enhancing performance, fostering versatility, and meeting new policing demands in pursuit of Vision 2030 for an upper middle-income society.

On Wednesday, Commissioner-General Godwin Matanga announced and congratulated the senior officers who succeeded in the 2024 promotion exercise. Those promoted to Commissioner include Assistant Commissioners Nyirenda Martin Matembo, Makomo Arnold, Nyazema Taonei, Nyabasa Jealous, Ndlovu Salungile, Mbengwa Frederick, Tshuma Edward, Phiri Elizabeth, Chikunguru Maxwell, Nyamukure Clancy Tapewa, Chizemo Jasper Takaengwa, Ndoro Charles, Mazambani Tambudzayi Joyleen, Phillip Evelyn Taurai, Chemurema Susan, Sithole Tapera Layman, and Nyathi Paul Ngwarai.

The 28 officers promoted to Assistant Commissioner are Phuti Plaxedis, Kapasura Phanuel, Chinyunyu Zebediah, Singende Matilda, Mbira Plaxedes, Gomo Gajiweti, Mahala Maggie, Chitombi Rudo, Moyo Madlenkosi, Chokoto Chinyaka, Nzara Benjamin, Myambo Norest Henry, Mutize Zakaria, Mbedzi Richard, Hita Walter Gadzirai, Sithole Caleb, Gumpo Tambudzai, Muchada Elliot, deputy national police spokesperson Chishaka Blessmore, Masimba Enoch, Mahonde Helena, Chinyani Bruce, Makiwa Howard, Paradzayi Tsitsidzashe Letwin, Chikowore Arista, Sibanda Abigail, and Hambira Naison.

The Commissioner-General will officiate the conferment of ranks to these newly promoted senior officers on Wednesday, May 29, 2024, at 10 am at Mkushi Academy's New Assembly Hall. Officers of the rank of Chief Superintendent and above in greater Harare are invited to attend the ceremony.

Promoted officers are instructed not to wear their new badges of rank until after the conferment. Staff officer ordnance will start issuing new badges on May 23, 2024. Officer Commanding provinces, chief directors, or chief staff officers are required to submit transfer proposals immediately.

The ZRP has been undergoing significant changes since 2018 to regain public trust. Last June, the ZRP launched a recruitment drive to strengthen its human resources as part of ongoing structural transformation and rebranding efforts.

Source - the herald
More on: #Police, #Cops, #Promoted