Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Mugabe rejects mines boards because they did not have women

by Paul Nyakazeya
06 Mar 2014 at 08:50hrs | Views
PRESIDENT Robert Mugabe has rejected the proposed new boards for three State-owned mining companies because they did not have women. Mines Minister Walter Chidhakwa revealed this during an exclusive interview with The Financial Gazette's Companies & Markets recently. Chidhakwa had put together the new boards after firing the old boards appointed by his predecessor, Obert Mpofu.

The proposed new boards were for the Minerals Marketing Corporation of Zimbabwe (MMCZ), the Zimbabwe Mining Development Corporation (ZMDC) and Marange Resources. This has left Chidhakwa in a quandary as he has to find women with relevant qualifications that would add value to the boards.

"I had made recommendations to the president on the boards. He came back and indicated that I should have women in the boards. He told me to work on it again. My boards did not have full representation of woman. I am working on that now and will present to him once I have suitable names," Chidhakwa said. The duties and functions of these boards are presently being done by the ministry's permanent secretary, Francis Gudyanga.

"We are looking for women with capabilities, such as mining engineers, geologists - those with mining background and those with that technical aspect that will add value to the ministry," he said.

Chidhakwa dissolved the boards of MMCZ, ZMDC and Marange Resource in December. Some of the former board members on these institutions had relinquished their positions after contesting July 31 elections held last year.

Only two people were left on the Marange Resources board. Those who left include Supa Mandiwanzira, now the Deputy Minister of Information, Media and Broadcasting services. Mandiwanzira was a board member at the ZMDC. He reigned to participate in the parliamentary elections in Nyanga South where he won. Godwills Masimirembwa stepped down as chairperson of the ZMDC board to contest in parliamentary elections on a Zanu--PF ticket for the Mabvuku-Tafara seat, which he lost.

Former MMCZ board chairman, Chris Mutsvangwa, now the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, resigned to contest the Norton parliamentary seat which he won while Tshinga Dube, who was the chairman of Marange Resources, which is wholly owned by the ZMDC, also resigned to contest in elections in Bulawayo where he lost. Another former MMCZ board member, Tongai Muzenda, is now the Deputy Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare while former ZMDC board member Fred Moyo is now the Deputy Minister of Mines and Mining Development.

Other ZMDC board members included Ntombizodwa Masuku, Togarmah Dhlakama, Mutabu Sibanda, Ashton Ndlovu, Esther Maravanyika and Psychology Maziwisa. MMCZ board members included Johnson Masawi, Tendai Munyoro, Nicholas Dube, Morris Mpofu, Nonhlanhla Ndlovu and Felix Moyo.

Source - fingaz