Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Mnangagwa to name VPs

by Staff reporter
16 Dec 2017 at 21:38hrs | Views
PRESIDENT Emmerson Mnangagwa yesterday appointed Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri as the ruling party Zanu-PF's national chairperson, further revealing that he will be naming his two deputies in the next few days.

President Mnangagwa also announced new members of the party's politburo to fill in positions that had been left vacant following the expulsion of the holders.

Delivering his closing remarks at the Zanu-PF Extra-Ordinary congress that was held at the Robert Mugabe square in Harare, the President said the nation will have to wait a few more days for the announcement of the new Vice Presidents.

The Vice Presidents positions were left vacant after the elevation of President Mnangagwa and the expulsion of Mr Phelekezela Mphoko.

"I know that there are some positions that are vacant that have to be filled, chief among these being the two Vice Presidents. However I won't be announcing the names of the two Vice Presidents today, I will make the appointments in the next few days.

"As for the post of national chairperson I am appointing Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri who was previously the secretary for welfare and transport," said President Mnangagwa to cheers and applause from delegates attending the congress.

The President also elevated Dr Obert Mpofu who was the secretary for economic affairs, to the position of secretary for administration. Patrick Chinamasa takes over from Dr Obert Mpofu.

Chinamasa was previously the secretary for legal affairs.

Dr Mpofu replaces Dr Ignatius Chombo who was expelled from the party.

Mabel Chinomona was appointed the party's secretary for Women's League, Pupurai Togarepi was re-instated as the secretary for Youth Affairs while Major General Engelbert Rugeje was appointed secretary for the Commissariat.

Maj-Gen Rugeje took over from Mr Saviour Kasukuwere, Togarepi takes over from Mr Kudzanai Chipanga while Chinomona takes over from former First Lady Mrs Grace Mugabe. All three were expelled from the party.

War veterans' leader, Christopher Mutsvangwa was appointed as the new secretary for Science and Technology with President Mnangagwa jokingly saying he was "replacing his friend Professor Jonathan Moyo".

Prof Moyo like Mr Kasukuwere, Mrs Mugabe, Dr Chombo and Mr Chipanga was expelled from the party

Other major appointments made by the President include; Paul Mangwana (secretary for Legal Affairs), Fortune Chasi (deputy secretary for Legal Affairs), Victor Matemadanda (secretary for War Veterans, Detainees and Restrictees), July Moyo (Secretary for Transport), Lovemore Matuke (Secretary for Security), Munyaradzi Machacha becomes head of Chitepo Ideological College and will also sit in the Politburo.

Air Marshal Perence Shiri and Major General Sibusiso Moyo have both been appointed into the Politburo.

Speaking after her appointment as the party's national chairperson, Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri vowed to repay the confidence shown in her by the President by working hard to further uplift the ruling party.

"I am very humbled by the confidence which has been shown to me and I will repay this confidence by pledging my loyalty both to the President and the party. I will serve the party and I promise you that I will surpass the expectations," said Muchinguri-Kashiri.

Join Bulawayo24 Online Community
Source - online