Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

UK-based players included in Warriors squad

by Staff reporter
25 Aug 2021 at 18:30hrs | Views
ZIFA have announced a 29-member provisional squad for the Warriors' World Cup qualifiers against South Africa and Ethiopia set for next week.

The technical team have included all the players on their wish list in the enlarged squad, despite the uncertainties surrounding the availability of UK-based players.

The team led by Knowledge Musona features a host of England-based players like Marvelous Nakamba, Tendayi Darikwa, Brendan Galloway, Macauley Bonne and David Moyo of Hamilton Academical in Scotland Championship.

Zimbabwe are set to host South Africa at the National Sports Stadium next Friday and then travel to Ethiopia for a date against the Walya Antelopes on September 7.

"The international break begins on 30 August (next Monday) and players are expected to begin arriving on the day. We are still hopeful that all players will be available for the matches despite the adverse position taken by the English Premier League to bar players from fulfilling the national assignments citing England's stringent quarantine regulations," said ZIFA in a statement.

"We are engaging all clubs that have intimated that they are going to withhold players, hoping they will fulfil their obligations to release players as stated in the regulations on the status and transfer of players. "We are confident that the team that we will eventually come up with will still represent the nation with pride and compete to the best of their abilities as true Warriors."

Zimbabwe squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Washington Arubi (Marumo Gallants) Talbert Shumba (Free State Stars) Martin Mapisa (Zamora CF)

DEFENDERS: Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo) Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle) Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport United) Jordan Zemura (AFC Bournemouth) Divine Lunga (Mamelodi Sundowns) Tendayi Darikwa (Wigan Athletic) Takudzwa Chimwemwe (Nkana) Jimmy Dzingai (Unattached) Alec Mudimu (Torpedo Kutaisi)

MIDFIELDERS: Blessing Sarupinda (Sekhukhune United) Jonah Fabisch (Hamburger SV) Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims) Marvelous Nakamba (Aston Villa) Tafadzwa Rusike, Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United) Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United) Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs) Perfect Chikwende (Simba SC) Butholezwe Ncube (Amazulu) Ovidy Karuru (Unattached)

STRIKERS: Terrence Dzvukamanja (Orlando Pirates) Tinotenda Kadewere (Lyon) David Moyo (Hamilton Academical) Admiral Muskwe (Luton Town) Knowledge Musona (Al-Tai) Macauley Bonne (Ipswich Town)

Source - the herald