Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Warriors faces Chipolopolo in Cosafa draw

by Staff reporter
15 Jun 2024 at 13:10hrs | Views
Following two disappointing defeats in the Fifa World Cup qualifiers against Lesotho and South Africa, the Zimbabwean national football team, known as the Warriors, will seek redemption at the upcoming Cosafa Cup in Durban, South Africa. Originally slated to begin on Thursday, the tournament has been rescheduled to run from June 26 to July 7. The Warriors aim to bounce back from their recent poor form, where losses to Lesotho (0-2) and South Africa (1-3) left them at the bottom of Group C in the World Cup qualifiers.

In the Cosafa Cup, Zimbabwe finds itself in a challenging Group B alongside Zambia, the reigning champions aiming for a record three consecutive titles, as well as Comoros and potentially Malawi, coached by Kalisto Pasuwa. The Warriors, under interim coach Jairos Tapera, are returning to the Cosafa tournament after missing last year's edition due to a FIFA suspension. Tapera has selected a squad that includes several fringe players, retaining only five from the World Cup squad.

The tournament format guarantees each team at least three matches, with the group stage running from June 26 to July 3, followed by the semi-finals on July 5 and the final matches on July 7.

2024 Cosafa Cup draw

Group A: South Africa, Mozambique, Eswatini, Botswana

Group B: Zambia, Zimbabwe, Team to be confirmed, Comoros

Group C: Angola, Namibia, Lesotho, Seychelles

Warriors Cosafa squad

Goalkeepers: Marley Tavaziva (Brentford), Geoffrey Chitsumba (Manica Diamonds), Prince Tafiremutsa (Dynamos)

Defenders: Shane Maroodza (Huddersfield), Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders), Emmanuel Jalai (Dynamos), Thubelihle Jubani (Manica Diamonds), Isheanesu Mauchi (Simba Bhora), Tawanda Chisi (Manica Diamonds)

Midfielders: Daniel Msendami (Jwaneng Galaxy), Joel Phuthi (Sheffield Wednesday), Juan Mutudza (FC Platinum), Kingsley Mureremba (Caps United), Mtokozisi Msebe (Simba Bhora), Tatenda Tavengwa (Venda Football Academy), Richard Hachiro (Ngezi Platinum), Panashe Mutimbanyoka (FC Platinum), Tinotenda Meke (GreenFuel).

Forwards: Macauley Bonne (Cambridge United), Takunda Benhura (Ngezi Platinum), Tinotenda Benza (Herentals), Denzel Mapuwa (GreenFuel)

Source - newsday