Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Norton parliamentary by-election held

by Staff reporter
22 Oct 2016 at 19:24hrs | Views

Thousands of voters today went to polls to choose the Norton National Assembly member in an election that was described as peaceful.

Three candidates namely Ronald Chindedza of Zanu PF, Mr Temba Mliswa an independent candidate and Mr David Choga of National Constitutional Assembly were contesting the parliamentary by election.

The election started as scheduled at seven in the morning and ended at seven this Saturday evening.

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission provincial elections officer for Mashonaland West Mr Austin Ndlovu said the election process went on smoothly as scheduled adding that about 18 000 people were registered in the main voters roll for the election.

A total of 56 polling stations were established for the by-election.

Officer Commanding Police Mashonaland West Senior Assistant Commissioner Rangarirayi Mushaurwa commended the electorate for voting in peace.

She urged the voters and candidates to accept the result of the election expected late Saturday evening or early Sunday morning.

The Norton seat fell vacant following the expulsion of Mr Christopher Mutsvangwa from parliament.

Source - zbc