Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Politburo endorses poll results

by Staff reporter
06 Jan 2022 at 19:00hrs | Views
THE Politburo yesterday endorsed provincial chairpersons who emerged victorious following polls held last week.

Those endorsed are now substantive provincial chairpersons in their respective provinces.

Minister of State for Mashonaland West Province Mary Mliswa-Chikoka beat three contestants for the Mashonaland West provincial chairmanship.

She was battling it out with Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Deputy Minister Kindness Paradza, former provincial youth chairman Vengai Musengi and ex-Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation chief executive officer Happison Muchechetere.

Social Amenities and Housing Minister Daniel Garwe won the provincial chairmanship in Mashonaland East, while Minister of Environment, Climate Change, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Mangaliso Ndlovu is the new chairman for Matabeleland South. Former vice chairman for Masvingo province Robson Mavhenyengwa landed the top post after defeating the Minister of State for Provincial Affairs and Devolution Ezra Chadzamira.

In Bulawayo, former Zimbabwe National Liberation War Veterans Association (ZILWA) chairman, Jabulani Sibanda emerged victorious while in Midlands province, the Minister of State for Provincial Affairs Larry Mavima was elected uncontested.

He is taking over from Daniel Mackenzie-Ncube who decided not to seek re-election.

Godwills Masimirembwa retained his post in Harare province after defeating his former vice chairman Godfrey Gomwe.

Minister of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage Kazembe Kazembe won in Mashonaland Central while the Deputy Minister of Transport Mike Madiro landed the Manicaland post.

Matabeleland North Minister of State for Provincial Affairs and Devolution Richard Moyo also retained his post as leader of the party in the province.

New brooms emerged in the Women's League race, with Mashonaland East Provincial Affairs Minister Aplonia Munzverengwi trouncing former provincial chair Lyn Gororo, while Rejoice Sibanda took over the reins in Bulawayo province.

In Harare province, Ratidzo Mukarati bounced back at the helm of the league in a tightly contested race with Betty Kaseke, who was at the helm in an interim capacity.

Happiness Nyakuedzwa retained her post in Manicaland province, while Tsitsi Gezi emerged victorious in Mashonaland Central. Constance Shamu won in Mashonaland West while Dora Msimanga won in Matabeleland North.

Sindisiwe Nleya is now the new chairperson for Matabeleland South, while Tsitsi Zhou from Midlands and Agnia Mhlanga from Masvingo complete the list.

Isaac Tasikani is now the Mashonaland East provincial youth league chairman. Emmanuel Mahachi retained his position in Harare province, while John Paradza won in Masvingo province.

Tapiwa Masenda is now the Mashonaland West youth chair, taking over from Vengai Musengi, while in Matabeleland South, Moses Langa is now the new Youth League boss.

In Mashonaland Central, Emerson Raradza is now in charge while Stanley Sakupwanya took over the reins in Manicaland. E Murechu will be the Youth League chairman for Bulawayo.

In Matabeleland North, youth league elections were deferred because the candidate was over age.

The elections were deferred pending guidance and direction from the party leadership

Speaking at the 359 post Politburo meeting yesterday, Zanu-PF Secretary for Information and Publicity Ambassador Christopher Mutsvangwa said the newly elected provincial leaders' major task was to ensure unity among party members in their respective jurisdictions as well as mobilising more than five million votes in next year's elections.

Some of their major task, Ambassador Mutsvangwa said is to spearhead party and Government programmes in a bid to transform the livelihoods of the general populace.

Commenting on the appointments of the new provincial substantive members, Ambassador Mutsvangwa said that the party was happy that Jabulani Sibanda had come back to the party.

"We are looking for his vibrant impact," said Ambassador Mutsvangwa.

Turning to Harare province, he said: "The party is happy Masimirembwa has retained the post as we drive socio-economic projects and opening businesses in Harare."

He commended Mliswa-Chikoka for being the first woman to win the chairmanship of the main wing.

He said she was an example for gender parity and emancipation of women in Zanu-PF.

"This is an inspiration for the girl child," said Ambassador Mutsvangwa.

On Chadzamira, who lost to Mavhenyengwa, Ambassador Mutsvangwa said when an incumbent and minister loses an internal election, it shows that democracy is alive and well.

The party, he said is confident Chadzamira will lend his support to the winner.

The Politburo, Ambassador Mutsvangwa said was happy that Ozias Bvute accepted his disqualification and committed to the party.

Ambassador Mutsvangwa was flanked by the party's National Political Commissar Mike Bimha and director for Information and Publicity Tafadzwa Mugwadi.

Source - The Herald