Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Zanu-PF bribed our councillors - MDC-T

by Mafu Sithabile
17 Sep 2013 at 13:00hrs | Views
MDC-T national deputy organising secretary Abednigo Bhebhe yesterday accused Zanu-PF of bribing his party's councillors, to win mayoral elections in Victoria Falls, Kwekwe and Redcliff.

Zanu-PF councillors were elected mayors in the MDC-T strongholds, after MDC-T councillors defied the party to vote for Zanu-PF.

"This is a clear case of politics of the stomach. We have evidence that councillors, especially in Kwekwe, Victoria Falls and Redcliff, were paid up to $20 000 each to vote for Zanu-PF," said Mr Bhebhe.

He said MDC-T was investigating councillors who had been implicated and would soon take disciplinary action on them.

"We are going to use the party's disciplinary code of conduct. As a party, we know we are not crumbling, as some people would like to imply. This vote is not a sign of a house in disorder, but a sign of Zanu-PF corruption as the party is using money from Chiadzwa diamond fields to bribe our councillors," said Mr Bhebhe.

Responding to the issue Rugare Gumbo, the Zanu-PF national spokesperson, said it was unfortunate that MDC-T's did not want to concede defeat.

"What kind of nonsense is that? How can we think so low and what kind of councillors are those that can be bought easily," said Gumbo.

"People who decide to vote for Zanu-PF are most welcome. Infact it is the duty of every Zimbabwean to align themselves with those who can deliver. It is just a question of delivering service."

In Victoria Falls where Zanu-PF has three councillors against MDC-T's seven, Ward 10 councillor, Sifiso Mpofu of the ruling party won the mayoral post by getting six votes, beating MDC-T's Ward One Councillor Margaret Valley who got four.

In Redcliff, Zanu-PF's Ward Nine councillor Freddy Kapuya defeated MDC-T's Clr Takura Chikwira of Ward Eight by a vote.

In Kwekwe, Zanu-PF's Clr Matenda Titos Madzoke of Amaveni's Ward Seven is the new mayor after beating Ward 10's Clr Aaron Gwalazimba of MDC-T by eight against six votes.

Zanu-PF and MDC-T had seven councillors each in the 14 member council.

Source - Byo24News