Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

Mnangagwa promotes 6 to Deputy Commissioner-General rank

by Staff reporter
07 Jun 2024 at 02:26hrs | Views
President Mnangagwa has promoted six Police Commissioners to the rank of Deputy Commissioner General and 12 Assistant Commissioners to the rank of Commissioner upon their retirement.

The promotions are effective immediately.

In a statement, national police spokesperson Commissioner Paul Nyathi confirmed the news.

"The Commissioner-General of Police, Tandabantu Godwin Matanga, advises the public that His Excellency, the President of the Republic of Zimbabwe, Head of State and Government, and Commander-in-Chief of the Zimbabwe Defence Forces, Dr. Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, has promoted the following senior officers upon retirement," he said.

The newly promoted Deputy Commissioners-General are Mahoya David, Makodza Erasmus, Mubemi Kudakwashe, Makotose Priscilla, Muzah Winston, and Basera Richard Mahoya.

Additionally, Assistant Commissioners Mundondwa Simon, Makone Sipo James, Madondo Tadeus, Mugonda George, Govo Johannes Chinembiri, Zimbwa Innocent, Zimbwa Godfrey, Mubaiwa Richard, Chitombo Blessing, Moyo Obeylaw, Wilson Engelbert Chamunorwa, and Dube Shelton have been promoted to the rank of Commissioner upon retirement.

Furthermore, 16 retiring Chief Superintendents have been promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioner, while 33 retiring Superintendents have been promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent.

Source - The Herald