Latest News Editor's Choice

News / National

MDC-T bigwigs are not being contested in primary elections

by Staff reporter
13 May 2013 at 03:13hrs | Views
MDC-T's standing committee members are not being contested in primary elections it has emerged.

Other senior members who are not in the standing committee, but who command respect in the party are also shielded from possible embarrassment.The standing committee, which is chaired by the party's leader Mr Morgan Tsvangirai, is made up of 13 people and it is the party's highest decision-making organ.

Only Abednico Bhebhe who sits in the committee and is the MDC-T deputy organising secretary is facing challenge from Nomathemba Ndlovu.

The standing committee agreed to shield its senior members and a national council was convened to rubber stamp the decision.

A final list of prospective candidates approved by the MDC-T national council meeting held on April 4 show that all the standing committee members have been spared from internal polls. MDC-T sitting Members of Parliament are supposed to get two thirds majority backing before subjected to primary elections.

Some MDC-T sitting MPs are facing tight competition from aspiring candidates but all standing committee members have sailed without any challenge.

The party's national chairman Lovemore Moyo, secretary general Tendai Biti, organising secretary Nelson Chamisa, women's assembly chairperson Theresa Makone, deputy secretary general Tapiwa Mashakada and deputy treasurer Elton Mangoma are among other senior members who have qualified without any challenge.

Solomon Madzore who is the MDC-T youth assembly chairperson also qualified uncontested for the Dzivarasekwa constituency.

Mr Elias Mudzuri who is a national council member is standing unopposed after his rivals Sifelani Moyo and Paddington Japajapa were disqualified.

MDC-T secretary for international relations Mr Jameson Timba who is also a Minister in the Prime Minister's Office also qualified unopposed for Mount Pleasant.

In Bulawayo Mr Gorden Moyo qualified for Makokoba constituency unopposed while the party's former chairperson for the youth assembly Thamsanqa Mahlangu is standing unchallenged for Nkulumane constituency.

Shipping vehicles from UK to Zimbabwe for less
Source - herald